Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

need help to create a text layer using scripting

Mar 28, 2012 6:07 PM

hi,guys

i'm new in scripting. now i want to use scripting to create a text layer,but i don't know how to set some properties, does anyone can help me.

please see my code below:

var myLayer1 = docRef.artLayers.add();

myLayer1.kind = LayerKind.TEXT;

myLayer1.name='madison';

myLayer1.textItem.font='BodoniBT-Bold';

myLayer1.textItem.size='26.3203234863281 pt';

var textColor1 = new SolidColor;

textColor1.rgb.hexValue = 'FAF9EF';

myLayer1.textItem.color = textColor1;

myLayer1.textItem.contents = 'madison';

docRef.activeLayer.translate(1120.0000000, 649.0000000);

now i want to set justification , bounds.

another question is if my text has "\n" how to do?

thanks.

Replies
  • JJMack
    6,045 posts
    Jan 9, 2006
    Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 28, 2012 8:15 PM   in reply to michael.shen

I have played a bit with addinf text layers.  Had a few problems sizeing text Photoshop seem to want to use points and a 72 DPI resolution. I also find it hard to move or align a text layer the has been added as a paragraph in some boundry, Here is some comments and code I have in one of my scripts where i playe around tryinf to do text, note several settinf lines have been commented out

/* Trying to figure out font size for the number of lines to cover the document height*/
    /* and getting setting text area to cover the document was a trip. Adobe Postscript trip*/
    /* I believe that 72 or 72.27 Point/Pica Size Photoshop Preference maybe I should see if*/
    /* I could retrieve it. Anyway mine is set to 72 Setting the document resolution taking*/
    /* the document width and dividing by 72 would probably yield number of characters that*/
    /* would fit in the document width. Setting the documents resolution comes into play*/
    /* with Photoshop text support. Using the documents height and dividing the by the number*/