Skip navigation
everywhereguy
Currently Being Moderated

New desktops, are mac's and workstations equal to cheaper pc's with better specs?

Apr 5, 2012 11:53 PM

I'm looking to buy a desktop for CS general, mainly PS and AE, plus a little VJ software, audio sequencers, and 3D animating here and there. I'm not a professional but I hope to be someday as I'm graduating soon. I'm noticing there are $1000+ workstation desktops that have similar or worse RAM and CPU than under-$1000 desktops that are aimed at gamers or general power users. Then there are mac's which cost much more for similar specs, but I'm considering a 21.5" iMac if it's really worth it for creative media.

This is basically what I'm talking about. Cheaper desktops have better specs than the more expensive iMac and workstation desktop.

I'm assuming there's quality increases with these iMac's and workstations, but is it worth it? Are the way these things are built going to make them perform better than the cheaper ones, for my needs? I've come to believe that I need at least a certain amount of RAM and processing power for video editing and such but I don't have $2000+ to buy an iMac or workstation with those parts, so if I get a "better quality" machine with lesser parts is that generally sufficient?

All advice appreciated, thanks.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 6, 2012 12:23 AM   in reply to everywhereguy