Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

AAaargh!  Ai prefs file becomes 'corrupted' several times a day.  Please help.

Apr 10, 2012 10:44 AM

I get the following error several times a day.... after I reboot Illustrator due to it's horrible, buggy, design.  I've been putting up with this for 17 years.... multiple version.anyway.... now I am getting this error constant

I see where corrupted fonts can cause this.... so I just uninstalled my Biststream Font Navigator... and installed Extensis Suitcase Fusion 3 - - - because they said it could discover corrupted fonts.  It did discover a single font, which I deleted. 

Still getting the error.  Any suggestions?  Thank you.

Windows 7 Pro

Asus motherboard

Intel i7

Ram: 12 gb

Hard drives: 3 internal

Graphics Card: Nvidia GT8000

ai prefs error.jpg

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 10, 2012 10:49 AM   in reply to Todd-sta

Suitcase Fusion also is the cause of a lot of trouble with Illustrator.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 10, 2012 11:44 AM   in reply to Todd-sta

I use Font Agent Pro it will even find corrupted fonts lets you know about duoplicate fonts and seems to get along very well with Illustrator.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 10, 2012 1:18 PM   in reply to Todd-sta

Todd, be sure that you're using the most current version of Suitcase Fusion 3. If you need assistance with diagnosing this issue, please contact Extensis support. It's free for registered users: http://www.extensis.com/support

Jim Kidwell

Extensis

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 18, 2012 10:31 AM   in reply to Todd-sta

Todd, that really shouldn't be happening. Even with the demo, you are welcome to contact our support team. It may be a conflict with another piece of software on your system, or even yet something else unknown. If it's our software, we really want to know about how it's affecting your unique setup. Please contact the support guys. Thanks.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 25, 2012 6:51 AM   in reply to Todd-sta