Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

ATTENTION ADOBE: A plea from a student

Apr 12, 2012 3:01 PM

Tags: #app #pdf #content #search #android #ios #education #update #student #reader #developer #adobe_reader #acrobat_reader #playbook #adobe_acrobat #disappointed #awful #blackberry_playbook

Adobe,

Being a university student, I don't have much money at all. So seeing how the playbook recently went on sale in the UK, I decided to pick one up for my educational use. This use mainly involves reading lecture and course material in the form of PDFs, and keeping my lecture notes by my side at all times. Adobe reader is installed by default on the playbook, and having used adobe on my previous iphone, my current galaxy nexus and my computer I had the highest confidence that Adobe reader on the playbook would get the job done perfectly.

Now heres my problem. The reader you have supplied for the playbook is not worthy of being labelled an adobe product. It is an absolute embarassment. I still to this day think this app was made by a bored employee sitting on a toilet who finished developing the app so fast he had enough time to read a whole newspaper before wiping his derriere. It is the most basic reader that takes a long time to correctly load and display simple PDF files; the scrolling system is slow, theres no search function, theres no bookmarking or highlighting or annotations, and there is no option to change text size or view etc.