Skip navigation
LyceumPublishingPJ
Currently Being Moderated

Converted PDFs in InDesign are too BIG!

Apr 19, 2012 9:25 AM

Tags: #pdf #indesign #print #magazine

I am a recently employed designer for a magazine and have been at the company for 4 months. At the end of creating an issue, I convert it to a PDF using the settings sent by the printers. Typically the end file size is around 300mb (before I joined, the previous designer had a typical file size of 1gb), but this issue was just over 1gb! I have done nothing different to how I have converted the mag before. At the end of converting the mag to PDF, I extract the PDFs as single files. I compared the file size for the 'editors page' (which doesn't really change, same content, different text), last month the file was 1.4mb, this months was 9.8mb! I have no idea why the overall PDF (and individual PDFs) is so much bigger than the previous month(s).... PLEASE HELP!

Regards

Paul

Replies
  • lilia@
    196 posts
    Jan 31, 2012
    Apr 19, 2012 11:00 AM   in reply to LyceumPublishingPJ

Sounds like an Acrobat question... perhaps the last designer tweaked the settings last year... have u made a pdf of that document to see if the settings you have create the same file size? If it doesn't then clearly something is different.

|
    Mark as:
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 19, 2012 12:24 PM   in reply to LyceumPublishingPJ

Are you sure that you aren't using a different PDF preset than before?

|
    Mark as:
  • John Hawkinson
    5,572 posts
    Jun 25, 2009
    Apr 19, 2012 10:51 PM   in reply to LyceumPublishingPJ

The usual answer relates to PDF metadata, but you can try Audit Space Usage in Acrobat as a tool to try to help narrow it down.

Does the size really matter?

|
    Mark as:
  • John Hawkinson
    5,572 posts
    Jun 25, 2009
    Apr 20, 2012 5:35 AM   in reply to LyceumPublishingPJ

How would I audit space in Acrobat and what would it do?