Skip navigation
skyhigh82
Currently Being Moderated

Best book for a beginner non-photography

Apr 26, 2012 8:39 AM

Hello,

I am a small business owner and have paid to have my logo and business cards created. Now that I have the files I would like to learn how to edit these files…such as adding things to my business card and using them to create posters/signs…ect. I’m not really interested in using for photography.

I have adobe photoshop CS5.1 windows

Thanks

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 26, 2012 9:11 AM   in reply to skyhigh82

Professional designers rarely use Photoshop for business identity. This is usually done with more versatile vector tools, like those found in Illustrator.

What type of files were supplied to you?

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 27, 2012 11:18 AM   in reply to skyhigh82

I certainly wouldn't edit graphics originally created from someone you hired to produce (especially if these graphics are to represent your business). I mean, you hired a professional for a reason, right? I would be floored if I saw one of my clients edit something I did just to make it look less professional (some designers actually stipulate their work can't be altered). If you want to use those files to learn and play around with, that's one thing, but I certainly wouldn't take on the role of designer when it comes to your own branding.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 27, 2012 12:52 PM   in reply to Shan-Dysigns

That seems like a very odd position. You might be reading too much into this.

A designer made skyhigh82's logo. Skyhigh82 wants to use that logo to create posters and signs. There is absolutely nothing unusual about that.

While I would guess that skyhigh82 might be in over their head to think that simply picking up a book is going to help them learn print design, there is no reason why they should not be able to utiltize the artwork that they paid for.

|
    Mark as:
  • Trevor Dennis
    5,858 posts
    May 24, 2010
    Currently Being Moderated