Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Basic color guide questions

May 4, 2012 6:01 PM

I'm pretty new to graphic design and am using the Color Guide to help me pick some harmonius colors. I found a color palette that I like (see attached image) and I sample the color in the rectangle under "Art Classes" to make it my base color.

1. The color guide displays a few swatches at the top based on the color rule selected and a bunch more at the bottom. Why are there only a certain number of swatches at the top, but so many more on the bottom? Are the swatches at the top the main harmonious colors to the base, and the ones at the bottom are not? What is the reason behind this?

2. How would you describe the color harmony rule for the colors in the image? I tried going through the different rules, though I can not figure it out. Is there a way to do this in AI or do you just have to have an understanding of color?

Thanks in advance for any help.Screen Shot 2012-05-04 at 5.46.08 PM.png

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 4, 2012 8:08 PM   in reply to web.boards

..I sample the color in the rectangle under "Art Classes"...

How, exactly did you do this? Are you saying that you simply sampled the blue color from an RGB raster image, by shiftClicking with the eyedropper?

What version of Illustrator are you using?

The color guide displays a few swatches at the top based on the color rule selected and a bunch more at the bottom. Why are there only a certain number of swatches at the top, but so many more on the bottom?