Skip navigation
kstohlmeyer1

Where the experts learn

Posted by kstohlmeyer1 Oct 3, 2016

In today's fast paced creative world, you may find it difficult at times to keep up with the deluge of technology you use for your career or for fun. It can become overwhelming or worse, disappointing when you get erroneous advice or information. I get asked this a lot in my travels for Adobe and speaking at various events across the country – "How do you know all this?" or "How do you keep up?"

 

I fully admit that simply learning everything the Adobe Creative Cloud has to offer could become a full-time endeavor. But many of us don't have the time to commit to this, outside of attending a higher education institution.  So here are some sure-fired resources that I personally use or have had recommended to me by peers and colleagues in the Adobe community.

 

First, for troubleshooting or software issues always turn to the Adobe Forums. There are so many knowledgeable folks here that can assist you or work your problem it makes me smile to see issues answered. You are already here reading this blog, so you are ahead of the game. But did you know that the badges under our profile photos actually mean something? Having an ACP (Adobe Community Professional), MVP or Adobe community member badge means we are a trusted resource. It can help to filter out a lot of the chatter that can occur on popular threads.

 

Some folks like websites, some in-person training. For the latter, be sure to check out Adobe Authorized Training Partners. These are local training partners that have a classroom waiting for you. They are vetted and approved by Adobe to offer a multitude of training subjects from video to web to print. You can find more at https://training.adobe.com/training/partner-finder.html

 

Adobe also has a ton of online courses and tutorials available for free at https://helpx.adobe.com/learn.html?promoid=KTTAU#/top_products simply click the application you wish to learn more about and find tutorials and tips for all skill levels from beginners to "What's New" and "Key Techniques".

 

If you are willing to pay for excellent video training, you can always go to the incomparable lynda.com. I am not only an author, but I am also a customer! I am always amazed at the plethora of content on this site, from management skills to how to use a Wacom tablet, there is always something new to learn. If you want to dip your toe in the pool and try lynda before you subscribe use this link to get a 10-day free trial: http://bit.ly/2dpUZM6

 

Other great free online resources include:

InDesign:

InDesign Secrets - http://indesignsecrets.com

 

Photoshop:

Tip Squirrel Photoshop tips - http://www.tipsquirrel.com

Glyn Dewis Photoshop Guru - https://www.glyndewis.com

Deke Online, Deke McClelland - http://www.deke.com

PhotoshopCAFE - http://photoshopcafe.com

Julieanne Kost - http://blogs.adobe.com/jkost/

Photoshop Training Channel - https://photoshoptrainingchannel.com

 

Photography:

Scott Kelby's Blog - http://scottkelby.com

PetaPixel - http://petapixel.com

Photofocus - https://photofocus.com

 

Illustrator:

Tuts+ - https://design.tutsplus.com/categories/adobe-illustrator

Vec Tips - http://vectips.com

Astute Graphics - http://astutegraphics.com/tutorials-blog/

 

Web:

Site Inspire- https://www.siteinspire.com

Smashing Magazine- https://www.smashingmagazine.com

Daily JS - http://www.dailyjs.com/

Dreamweaver Team Blog- http://blogs.adobe.com/dreamweaver/

 

Remember, this is a continuing effort to keep up with today's tech, but finding reliable sources to filter out the noise and get to the heart of what you need to learn definitely helps bring you back into the game. I hope you find this post helpful and if you have comments or any favorite sites you'd like to add, hit me up!