Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can I use ppi not dpi in new Photoshop

New Here ,
Nov 27, 2017 Nov 27, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I've been designing for many years and have just noticed that in the updated version of Photoshop that I have (cc 2017) the settings are all now for ppi not dpi.

Is there a way I can change that? I prefer to use dpi.

Thanks in advance!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

They have been ppi for as long as I can remember. PPI (pixels per inch) is for screen and DPI (dots per inch) is for out to an ink jet printer.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

And when talking about halftone printing (offset or gravure for example) there’s lpi …

Lines per inch - Wikipedia

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Silkrooster is entirely correct. Pixels per inch means one thing, dots per inch means something else. In your printer settings you'll see DPI. In Photoshop it's PPI.

Splitting hairs maybe, but it pays to keep the concepts straight. PPI is probably the most misunderstood acronym in the entire history of raster image processing - until you look at what it actually means.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The input pixels are not always equal to printer dots. It all depends on the printer.