• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to create a mask along a motion guide?

Contributor ,
Dec 04, 2017 Dec 04, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all

I'm pretty new to all of this, although had basic flash experience in the past. I'm trying to get my head around it all again and I'm not finding much of use online.

I have this line drawing... and I would like to create a mask so that it is revealed along the line - as if being drawn.

Screen Shot 2017-12-04 at 15.29.18.png

I know how to create a mask if it was a smooth transition from left to right, but it's not.

Please would someone provide me a step-by-step guide as to how to do this. I am assuming motion guides are in order but not sure a) how to create them and b) how to link them to a mask.

Layman's language would be great.

Thank you.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Dec 04, 2017 Dec 04, 2017

in a layer above line_home at frame 31 or so create narrow rectangle with height = stage aligned with the left edge of the stage. at frame 89 or so add a keyframe and increase the width of your rectangle to the stage width.  between those two keyframes, right click>click add shape tween.

right click that tweened layer and click mask.  test.

adjust the frame span of the mask and masked layers and/or the frame rate to get the "speed" you want.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Dec 04, 2017 Dec 04, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied