• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Night photo fix

New Here ,
Dec 31, 2017 Dec 31, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey guys! Long time Photoshop user, first time poster. I am self-taught, but relatively adept at Photoshop for the pretty basic stuff.

I have about 30 night pictures in which there is a lit location in the background, but the foreground shot is completely dark. I have tried every possible workaround to try to brighten the picture. But, it ends up looking washed out and noisy/pixelated.

I've played around with the levels. I have followed the official tutorials, the unofficial tutorials, searched for solutions, none of which work, etc etc.

Are there just some pictures that are beyond saving? Should I post an example of the picture?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Should I post an example of the picture?

Yes, you should. That said - what's not there is not there. Even a Raw image only has so much dynamic range. There are no magic invisible pixels that can be recovered if the image was shot with too low exposure and this may be a hopelss cause, after all.

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

melynn44  wrote

? Should I post an example of the picture?

Absolutely.  But you can make a start by using the Camera RAW filter, providing you are using CC.  Work on a copy of the layer.  Move the Shadow slider all the way to the right, and edge the Black slider to the left to win back the contrast, and block out the worst of the noise.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines