• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Linked smart objects dose not change master file size.

Contributor ,
Jan 01, 2018 Jan 01, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a master file (Mac OSX)  that I am working on and I replaced few REGULAR layers with LINKED smart object layers in order to reduce the file size.

The problem is that the file size does not change. When I look at the actual file in the finder before I made the change it is 481 megs but when I look at the same file after I replace the regular (non-linked) layer with Linked smart objects layers, the file size remains the same at 481 megs. On the doc. file size view on the bottom left hand side of my document it says 231/738; even after I make the change.

Can any one explain?

Additionally, will Photoshop's functions speed up if I am working on a master file with LINED OBJECTS instead of regular layers?

If not, then what is the efficiency benefit of working with linked smart objects given that I typically don't work with a team and just want to work faster?

Thanks for your time and action.

Before

Screenshot 2018-01-01 14.44.17.png

After

Screenshot 2018-01-01 14.58.02.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

If you use a linked smart object, the document still contains a layer the size of the rasterised image from the smart object. So in your case you will see no difference between the smart object and using a rasterised layer

The advantages of a linked smart object are :

1. The layer in your file will only be the size of a single rasterised layer - even if the file it links to contains several layers