• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photoshop CS6 crashing after cloning hard drive

New Here ,
Jan 01, 2018 Jan 01, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Recently the hard drive I've been running since 2012 was slowing down exponentially, so I used a Wavlink Dock to clone it to a new hard drive. Upon trying to run photoshop CS6 on the clone, I had to re-enter the serial key, but things seemed to be okay after that.

It was only after I had to use it for something I discovered a problem. Photoshop CS6 seems to now crash at the slightest action once open. No discernable cause, just trying to do anything in it can make it crash. I uninstalled and reinstalled CS6 to see if it might help, but the same thing happens every time.

I don't know if this is an issue with Photoshop, or an issue with the hard drive clone, either presents a problem to me, does anybody know what might be causing this?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Jan 02, 2018 Jan 02, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Have you tried resetting PS preferences

To restore preferences quickly using a keyboard shortcut: Press and hold Alt+Control+Shift (Windows) or Option+Command+Shift (Mac OS) as you start Photoshop. You are prompted to delete the current settings. The new preferences files are created the next time you start Photoshop

Failing that you could also try this

Use the Creative Cloud Cleaner Tool to solve installation problems

Re-installing the OS for a fresh install may be the next option to take, it doesn't do any harm to start with a clean OS installation

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied