Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Digital images from Great Photographers posted to Muse

New Here ,
Jan 05, 2018 Jan 05, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am a seasoned Publisher and Editor. I have been working with Photoshop since 1988. I have a new digital project. It is #13 of my Publishing career. I am having trouble with finding the best possible image reproduction for my project.

1. I use 72 DPI - can I move it to 96 and will it make a difference?

2. Why are some images better than others on the Internet? What are the specs to get there?

3. Is this method of asking correct?

[excessive empty lines removed by moderator]

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Pixels per inch (ppi; sometimes erroneously referred to as dpi) is a print parameter. It does not apply on screen.

On screen, the image pixels align to the screen pixel grid and that determines the effective ppi on screen. This pixel grid does not exist on a piece of paper, so a pixel grid has to be invented. That's what the ppi setting is.

Most images need to be resized for screen. This tends to soften and blur the image. For this reason it's essential to run a new round of sharpening after this resizing. Done carefully, this can make a huge difference, and make the image really "pop". It's also important that the site doesn't automatically scale to browser width (responsive design). While web designers love this, it ruins image crispness.