• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Captivate 2017 and version control (git etc.)

New Here ,
Jan 12, 2018 Jan 12, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Is there any way to use git to for version control of Captivate 2017 projects? 

We have multiple projects, project versions, and geographically dispersed ID team. We need an efficient way to keep track of changes, project versions and edit conflicts.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Paul.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,
Jan 13, 2018 Jan 13, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am not a GIT expert, however, we use GIT where I work - not for Captivate projects, but other projects - but I guess I don't see why it could not be used.

Do multiple people work on a local copy of the same CPTX file at the same time?

That would seem really problematic to me.

For us, GIT is not a working space but a storage space. Files are worked on locally and then updated to GIT.

Your team would need to work out the details of the standard operating procedures as it relates to how you need to do business.

In my position, I seldom need to utilize GIT so I cannot speak to all the features.

In our workflow - creators can all post to GIT and those with permissions can pull but we only have the original creator of a particular project update that project in GIT.

Each creator is responsible for keeping up to date their own projects. All others can download and use a file but if changes are made, they must be sent to the original creator for updating GIT.

Also, if changes are needed - I don't make the change myself - I inform the original creator of the project of my recommendations and we proceed from there.