• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Keyword Hierarchy Help

Community Beginner ,
Jan 13, 2018 Jan 13, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Lightroom, and from what I've read, If I create a keyword hierarchy and assign a keyword to the lowest item the keyword should also be assigned to the higher levels. This is not what is happening. For example, I've created a hierarchy of PLACES>USA>Sacramento, and when I add  the Sacramento keyword to some images only the Sacramento keyword is assigned, and not the USA and PLACES keywords. Am I doing something wrong, or is this the correct behaviour?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Jan 13, 2018 Jan 13, 2018

Your catalog's keyword list appears to be corrupted somehow.  The Library Filter bar shows a number of keywords that aren't appearing in the Keyword List panel: Tom Rush, Tony Carter, Uncle Joe, Vera.

1. Please do Help > System Info and report the exact version of LR and Mac / Windows.

2. Did the photos have keywords assigned by some other software program (e.g. Windows File Explorer) before you imported them into LR?

3. Try resetting LR's preferences: https://www.lightroomqueen.com/articles-page/how-do-i-reset-lightrooms-preferences/

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Lightroom, and from what I've read, If I create a keyword hierarchy and assign a keyword to the lowest item the keyword should also be assigned to the higher levels.

This is correct.

This is not what is happening. For example, I've created a hierarchy of PLACES>USA>Sacramento, and when I add  the Sacramento keyword to some images only the Sacramento keyword is assigned, and not the USA and PLACES keywords.