Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Step by step instruction - how to change a large file to a specific size

New Here ,
Jan 16, 2018 Jan 16, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

I'm new to Photoshop CC. I've looked at the help options and they have been somewhat useful but I can't see how to do this and need to be stepped through.

I have a large image 9,197KB (4928px x 3264 px).

I want to crop to 1600 x 200 150 dpi with a file size between 200-300 kb in jpeg.

I can do bits and pieces of this process, but I can't get to the final output.  Please help me!

Thanks

DD

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There's not much to it. The downsize option will affect image eventual size.  Bilinear would be a good option, but if you keep the original and work on a copy, you can always go back.

Having downsized the image, Save it as a JPG with a quality setting of 10, and see what the resulting image size is.  If it exceeds 300kb the Save as JPG again, and use a lower quality setting.

Note that JPG compression works better on images with fewer variations on colour.  A solid red will compress to a tiny size, where as a psychedelic mess will save as a much larger file.

[EDIT] Note that my screen shot has Bicubic Sharper highlighted.  Bt all means try that, but it will result in a larger file size than Bilinear.  I also find that Bicubic Sharper is much too harsh and produces an oversharpened end result.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

By George I think she's got it! Thanks

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines