• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

White Balance

New Here ,
Jan 18, 2018 Jan 18, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Excuse my ignorance, I am relatively new to this and I expect my question goes beyond Lightroom.

I thought that one of the advantages of capturing RAW files as opposed to JPEGs was that you could change the white balance.

Lightroom seems to allow me to change the White Balance on .jpg files as well.

What am I not understanding?

Thanks

John

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Advocate , Jan 18, 2018 Jan 18, 2018

Two important facts apply here:

1. A Raw file is what its name implies; raw, unprocessed data from the sensor. The only operation that was done on it by the camera firmware was the digitizing of the sensor's analog output (voltages). A Raw doesn't even have color data, because sensor voltages are caused by the intensity of the light hitting it, not its color. The color is interpolated in by Lightroom along with a lot of other image adjustments, including WB. So when LR applies that processing it

Votes

Translate

Translate
People's Champ ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can change white balance on both kinds of files, but you'll get a better result with raw files.

Hal

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks Hal for the prompt reply.

I'll have to try on both file types and see if I can figure out what you mean by a "better result".

Regards

John

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
People's Champ ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied