Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Image Resizing Issue

New Here ,
Jan 20, 2018 Jan 20, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

Im experiencing a problem I cant seem to resolve.

For example purposes I have an image sized 2000 x 2000 pixels /  7" x 7" / 300 Pixels/Inch. I want to reduce this image size and resolution.

If I reduce the pixel size to say 800 x 800 the inch dimensions increase to 800" x 800" from 7" x 7". This never happened in the past and has only just started happening.

Ive tried resetting preferences and even reinstalled photoshop (2018 cc). I may be missing something obvious but im still learning so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 20, 2018 Jan 20, 2018

You need to change the resolution when resizing, and not the number of pixels. So starting with your 2000 pixel square at 300dpi

If you change the resolution to 150 (because it is easy to work out the result) the size the image would print remains unchanged, but the number of pixels per side is exactly half.

If you want the image print size to remain the same, but the pixel size to be 800, then either do the math, or do it in two stages. First resample to 800 pixels per side.

Then uncheck resample,

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You need to change the resolution when resizing, and not the number of pixels. So starting with your 2000 pixel square at 300dpi

If you change the resolution to 150 (because it is easy to work out the result) the size the image would print remains unchanged, but the number of pixels per side is exactly half.