• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Switched Back to Lightroom Classic

Explorer ,
Jan 21, 2018 Jan 21, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

After migrating my Lightroom catalog to CC and trying it for a couple weeks, I've gone back to Lightroom Classic. I figured it was worth posting about my experience not just to complain, but in case it's useful to others—and frankly because I still find myself without a good solution for my photos and maybe someone will have suggestions.

For background: I'm not a professional photographer, just an enthusiastic amateur. I want to be able to access, organize, edit, and share photos and videos across multiple devices. I take a lot of photos on my phone but also shoot in RAW on a Canon G9X Mark II.

In theory I'm a perfect candidate for something like Apple Photos or Google Photos. I've rejected Google because there's no desktop app (i.e., offline solution for my laptop). I've rejected Apple, at least to date, because when last I played with Photos it seemed a bit simplistic and inefficient. Also, they seem to store adjustments in a proprietary format with no way to export, which worries me. At the moment it also can't import the RAW photos from my camera.

So with the demise of Aperture I moved to Lightroom. The new CC looked like a step closer to what I want...here's why I abandoned it:

1. Can't batch-apply presets. This feels like a non-starter if you're shooting in RAW, since the first thing you want to do is apply a generic camera preset. Even if everything else were perfect this might be enough to make me give up, given the time and effort it would entail.
  2. Can't share videos from mobile apps.
  3. Confusing asynchronous operations. Things like changing preferences or adding photos to an album sometimes take a little while and happen asynchronously (which is good), but without any indication of progress (which is bad). So you don't know whether the operation simply failed or is still pending.