• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Save pic with Photoshop 5.5megas, with paint 2.2megas, why?

Community Beginner ,
Jan 23, 2018 Jan 23, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello. I'm far from an expert like some users here are so my question is probably dumb to you.

I save a picture in Photoshop and it's size ends up being 5.5 megas. I take the same picture, then I open it in Windows Paint program and I do nothing to the picture except save it (ctrl+s). I close it and the end result is 2.2 mega picture in storage size. The picture looks exactly the same, zoomed in to it's resolution which happens to be 5184x3456.

I have this problem very often and I often have to save pictures with Paint at the end after doing the major editing with Photoshop. Does it have something to do with wrong color profiles or saving  the picture in too high quality? 

The default save setting of Windows Paint seems to be good setting for me and I'd like to copy this setting some how and use it or something similar in Photoshop so I don't ever have to open Paint. How do I do this?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 23, 2018 Jan 23, 2018

Kommando5  wrote

Hello. I'm far from an expert like some users here are so my question is probably dumb to you.

I save a picture in Photoshop and it's size ends up being 5.5 megas. I take the same picture, then I open it in Windows Paint program and I do nothing to the picture except save it (ctrl+s). I close it and the end result is 2.2 mega picture in storage size. The picture looks exactly the same, zoomed in to it's resolution which happens to be 5184x3456.

I have this problem very often and I

Votes