• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Best storage solution for large amount of photos and 4k video files?

New Here ,
Feb 01, 2018 Feb 01, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone, I do photography for a living and thus have terabytes upon terabytes of 42 megapixel photos and 4k video files (Sony A7R III, Canon 1DX II). Currently, I have a very inefficient method of storing these files on external hard drives and just having to plug in whatever hard drive contains the files that I need at that time.

What I want to do is have all of my files stored on one device that is permanently attached to my computer so I can access them on a whim. Also, I want this device to be fast so that I am not having issues with Lightroom, Photoshop, Premier Pro etc lagging because of the connection type.

I'm thinking that right now I want a device that can hold up to around 48tb+ (24tb for storage and 24tb for backup/copy).

What would you suggest for my needs? Just an external USB 3 hard drive enclosure with 4 x 12tb hard drives? Would this be slow to edit on? I have a separate SSD in my PC that I can copy Premiere Pro projects and their corresponding video files onto to edit when working on a particular project and then move them off of afterwards, but I'm guessing this hard drive enclosure solution should be more than enough for photo editing off of and storage?

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated as I'm a little lost right now. I should mentioned I'm also hoping to spend around $1500 (maximum $2000) if possible.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied