• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Making a Letter Mask to fill with photos

New Here ,
Feb 13, 2018 Feb 13, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Photoshop - so bear with me if I'm not using the right terms. I'm trying to make a giant outline letter "R" and then fill it with various photos. I will need to add an outline and a shadow to the R so it will stand out on the background, which will also be a collage of photos. I have PS Elements 9. Any help is appreciated! Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Mentor , Feb 15, 2018 Feb 15, 2018

Here is a way to completely fill the R with pictures. Bear in mind that I have the ancient PSE2 so there might be some minor differences from PSE9 (e.g., items on toolbar), but the steps should be the same.

1. Create a blank file the size you want for the R.  Activate the Type tool and enter R.  I used the Arial Black font. The font size doesn't matter at this point. We will enlarge it in the next step.

2.  Activate the Move tool. Holding down Shift key, drag any corner handle of the bounding box

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Feb 14, 2018 Feb 14, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm trying to make a giant outline letter "R" and then fill it with various photos. I will need to add an outline and a shadow to the R so it will stand out on the background, which will also be a collage of photos.

1. Try making a large letter R on your paper stock with pen and ink, then scan this and save it as a file at high resolution.
  2. Open the (scanned) file in PSE. It will be the background layer.
  3. Open a blank layer above this, and place a stroke on this layer (Edit menu>Stroke(outline) selection.
  4. Add a drop shadow to the stroke