Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lightroom CC storage help

Community Beginner ,
Feb 16, 2018 Feb 16, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm new to Lightroom and the Adobe ecosystem.

I need some advice on how to set up cloud backup for my photo collection as I transition from OneDrive to Lightroom/Adobe Cloud. I've broken it down as follows.

My current solution:

• All photos stored on my C drive (around 200GB)
  • All photos backed up to the cloud with OneDrive
  • View photos on my phone with OneDrive app (this is very unfriendly)
  • Automatically upload phone photos with OneDrive app

My ideal solution:

• All photos stored on my C drive for quick access by Lightroom
  • All photos backed up to the cloud with Lightroom sync
  • Organise my current Windows folders into Lightroom albums
  • View / edit photos with Lightroom app (very friendly)
  • Sync phone photos to cloud

My very basic questions:

• Is my ideal solution possible?
  • Should I rely on Lightroom as my cloud backup for photos?
  • By default does the Android app download your cloud photos? My 200gb would fill up my phone!
  • I'm confused about local storage. When I import new photos into Lightroom CC (Desktop) are they stored locally? Do I delete the files from their original location after import?
  • What is Lightroom storing on the cloud? Original + modified versions? If I don't specifiy a local storage folder does Lightroom still sync the original to the cloud?

Sorry for all the questions. I am very confused right now but excited to get into Lightroom.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Ben

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 17, 2018 Feb 17, 2018

benhl  wrote

My very basic questions: