• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Are my files actually backed up? Can I delete originals?

New Here ,
Feb 18, 2018 Feb 18, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Lightroom CC and I really like the workflow of importing to the cloud and working on my images wherever I may be. Even able to upload my RAW files directly from my phone! Amazing stuff!

I have one concern though. I'm contemplating deleting all of my originals from my local storage as this takes a tremendous amount of hard drive space. I've read from multiple sources that it's safe to do this as my files are "backed up" by the lightroom cloud. The words "Backed up" indicates that my files are stored in redundant locations and are capable of being "restored". Is this true? I just want to be sure it's safe for me to remove my originals from my local drive.

Also, what happens if for some reason my account is cancelled due to a payment not going through or something? What happens to my files?

And my last question. What if I wanted to migrate back to Lightroom Classic? How would I download my entire 1TB archive from the Lightroom cloud to make it local again?

Thank you!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 18, 2018 Feb 18, 2018

No, it is not safe to delete your originals.