Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Increasing the physical size of an image

Explorer ,
Feb 24, 2018 Feb 24, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all

I have a problem, which I guess is a common one but I can't find an answer to the problem on the net which makes sense to me (being new to Photoshop).

I have been given an image which I need to increase in size so it can be printed on a  board 1m (w) x 2m (h).

The dimensions of the image I have been handed is 90mm(w) x 134mm(h) and a resolution of 72dpi.

Now the client and myself nows the printed image will not be great quality. It's a photograph taking a long time ago and this is the best quality image to work with.

As a novice I would simply increase the size of the image to 200% and select the resample 'Bicubic Smoother (enlargement)' option.

I would then save the layer as a smart object and use the Smart Sharpen filter to try and make the image sharper.

I know there are advanced techniques to further improve the final print quality, but are my steps above okay for my needs??

Or can you suggest another workflow??

Thanks for your time.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You have an original image that's around 250 x 370 px that needs enlarging to something like 16000 x 8000px for printing at say 200PPI.

I should hand the image back, it can't be enlarged to that size effectively.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied