Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to make a shape outline a letter

Explorer ,
Feb 25, 2018 Feb 25, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there!

I have been looking to see how to make a shape outline a letter.

Heres what I'm trying to do:

b3d75419c30307090a2768feeb3658ac.png

Please, could someone tell me how I would do this?

also, I'm new to Photoshop

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 25, 2018 Feb 25, 2018

Shape have vector Paths that can be stroked and closed paths can be filed with a fill color gradient or patter.  That is a singe color, gradient or patten. shape layers can also have layer styles added.  To make your blue and cyan Z logo you would most likely need to make two shapes layers the Cyan shape and the Blue shape layer stacked.   When you create the custom shape paths with the pen tool use the least number of control points possible. Something like this:

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi.

- Right click the layer of your text;

- Choose 'Blending Options...' in the context menu;

- Check 'Stroke' in the 'Styles' list.

Regards,

JC

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

I might be missing the point of your question, but I would just make that outer shape with the pen tool and set the stroke to a gradient matching the blue. You could then put the letter above it in the layer stack.

Dave

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied