• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Best way to start?

New Here ,
Mar 02, 2018 Mar 02, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I am new to lightroom cc and have very little experience so I will try to post this question the best I can.

I am finally trying to break down and organize all my photos that I have from several years. Some are all over the place, and I have finally put most of them on one drive in multi folders that I need to spend time to separate and some will be fine where they are.

right now I am looking at over 132,687 files in over 17k folders as it shows me in a properties scan. and that is about 516gbs which is way over the 20gigs in my package. and I don't have more money for more space 😕

Should I try to organize them before adding them to lightroom? or add them and try to organize them in lightroom and have them saved in proper folders?

From what I read, when I add them to LR then it will upload them to the cloud and I am not going to have room in the cloud already.

I am sorry I am sure something like this may of already been addressed but I am hurting from a broken foot and cannot stay on here that long right now.

any thoughts or suggestions would be great

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Mar 03, 2018 Mar 03, 2018

You might be better using Lightroom Classic. You simply choose what photos go to the cloud from Collections (Albums).  Lr Classic sends smart previews to the cloud (smaller than originals) so 20GB of storage will go much further. Alternatively LRCC (without Photoshop) comes with 1TB of storage.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,
Mar 03, 2018 Mar 03, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Why not start with your favorites. Perhaps commence with photos taken in 2017 and then 2016 etc.