• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How would you compile different texture maps into one image?

Community Beginner ,
Apr 03, 2018 Apr 03, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I am not sure if this is a stupid question or not, it probably is, but I am still new to PS and I have only really used 3d texturing software.

If I have different textures that I want to add to say a model of a road, and I have different asphalt or concrete textures, but for those textures I don't just have albedo or diffuse but I also have normal maps and roughness maps to give the textures extra realism, how would these be added to the road with all 3-5 maps that come with the texture?

Capture.PNG

Above are different types of the maps for one concrete material, the albedo would just be the color of the texture but I would like to texture a road with more than just the albedo, id like to have about 4 of the maps overlaid on top of one another then use that to texture it, I am just not sure how to do it.

Thanks

Edit: Actually, I just added each map individually as layers, I guess I would save the final material out that way

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Apr 03, 2018 Apr 03, 2018

Hi

You can apply varies texture maps in the properties panel for the material in Photoshop 3D. Next to each material property you will see a small folder. Click on it and you will get a menu to load texture, create a new texture (and if a texture exists to Edit or remove the texture)

It is hard to tell just from the thumbnails but try adding them as below - just add one at a time and if you get an unexpected result just remove that texture

Dave

Votes