• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

TIFF vs. JPEG

New Here ,
Apr 21, 2018 Apr 21, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a complete novice when it comes to Adobe. My first project was fraught with setbacks and in the end I had to have someone else finish the lose ends to get to the printer in time. My questions I'm sure are basic but I want to move ahead on my current project knowing that what has already been done will stay in tact.

I am working to clean up my clients Lightroom CC in preparation for transferring the photos to her MAC as a second location.

Background: My client is in her mid 70's and is the remaining member of her immediate family. Many years back she was given the family photos that had been collected by several family members. Somewhere in the range of 12,000 beginning with family photos from the 1930's or earlier. She has laboriously scanned all the photos in TIFF format to LightRoom CC. This project took her several years, even logging all names of those photographed and locations where pictures were taken. She now has  archival quality photos she wants to share with the next generations.

Current Project: When she started the project, she says she was told she had to create a MAC format and a PC format of each TIFF photo. This was explained to me when I opened LRcc and found 70,000 photos. Many pictures had 3-4 duplicates which she says are the different formats. I am in charge of scaling this down with the following goals in mind. I have included my questions under each goal.

1. Ensure that each family member has the highest quality photo possible.