• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

What is the best way to share tips for you?

LEGEND ,
Apr 28, 2018 Apr 28, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

For anyone interested, how do you best learn?

• Do you find answers in these forums useful?
  • Do you find written blog posts (like at Behind the Scenes – Extra Ordinary, the Series) useful?
  • Do you think YouTube videos are more useful because you can see the UI of the tool directly?
  • Do you think live streaming events (at particular times) are more useful because you can ask questions and discuss a bit more live? (E.g. people could bring along a puppet they were having troubles with, and we work through together how to fix it live.)

Why am I asking?

For me personally, this is all a hobby - I am not a professional or expert, but have played with the software a bit now.  I jump on the forums during breaks at work when I get a few minutes and try to get newcomers unstuck. I frequently learn something new in the process. I notice the same sorts of questions are frequently asked, or the same sorts of problems hit, so I am now getting into the habit of writing a blog post so I can refer back to it easily. But I was wondering how effective it was.

Another option for example would be to do a live streaming event instead. The advantage is low expectations of quality, and people with questions could jump in and ask questions in the chat session for expansion on topics etc. But if nobody turns up, its a waste of effort. (I find it hard to turn up to a live streaming event - its at a particular time of day, and working my schedule to fit rarely works out.) Also long videos are harder to find an example in the middle if it covers several topics. So I am not sure if its the right way to go. A simpler option is to record videos of one activity and just post them.