• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Script timer format

Engaged ,
May 12, 2018 May 12, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The script process files, sometimes it runs for seconds, sometimes for several minutes depending on the number of files. The code snippet below calculates the script execution time in milliseconds. What kind of format is necessary to convert the milliseconds to hrs : min : seconds ?

var start = new Date();

main();

var time = new Date() - start;

var timeInSeconds = time / 1000;

alert ('Done! ' + timeInSeconds + ' sec.');

TOPICS
Actions and scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , May 13, 2018 May 13, 2018

Assumedly that was very clear script to understand, but you're right. When I started programming,

I remember some basic stuff (that now seems to be so obvious for me) was quite hard for long time.

I use variable keywords (var) only when there is a must for it, otherwise I avoid them completely.

So you got 15 : 00 : 03? I have no idea why there is 15 at beginning for you. For me it's 00 : 00 : 03

It's because I used 3 seconds delay by $.sleep(3000), so in the place you normally would use main()

If you

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I wrote a script to time actions.  An action would run the script as its first and last step to get the time.  The script would message you the time the action took.  Adobe added a bug to CC 2015.5 that brakes my run twice scripts.  It easy to work around Adobe bug setting up a new document and open document events to add garbage ti the document info metadata using the script event manager. Here is the workaround.