• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

make background transparent

Participant ,
Aug 06, 2016 Aug 06, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have the following image.  It is in png format.  I was originally a jpg file and then I saved it as a psd file and then a png file.

I would like to make the background color transparent.  How do I do that?

I am a beginner.  I need a step-by-step, including an explanation of where things are in Photoshop CC.  Screenshots would help too.

Would somebody be willing to do that for me?

Rx.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Participant , Sep 14, 2017 Sep 14, 2017

It wouldn't do anything when I click on the padlock icon.  But I got past it.  I worked around the problem.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Aug 06, 2016 Aug 06, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Use the Quick Selection Tool to select the white background and press the delete key. You can do it in stages. A grey checker background represents transparency. Do not save it as a JPG as they can't have transparency.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Oct 29, 2016 Oct 29, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,  I am trying to do the same thing.  When I select the background I'd like to be 'transparent' and select delete.  A "Fill" dialogue window pops up and its doesn't delete the area and replace with black and white checker transparent background.  Do you have advice?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Oct 29, 2016 Oct 29, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied