Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Get textFrame's Tag/Label through script

New Here ,
Jun 06, 2018 Jun 06, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everyone,

I'm really sorry if this has already been asked, I have found discussions that touch on it, but haven't found any suggestions or solutions.

I am a web developer, with no inDesign experience, our graphic designer uses it to build our flyers.

We have been talking about translating the flyers to another language, and I have been working on making them interactive (with an image map)on our website.

If I'm going to suggest we revise the flyer structure for automating the translation, I'd like to also handle the image mapping (pulling image + area coordinates)

The thought was to write a js script that will pull the text frames from the file so I can work with them using other scripts to translate, get coordinates, etc.

I have more or less succeeded in doing this using the textFrame's name.
I'm currently renaming each item in the Layers window with a key-value naming structure (000-000-000|Title, 000-000-000|Description) and then splitting the name by '|' to get the product code [0] and the textFrame 'tag' [1]. Then I can run the 'tag' portion of the content through a translation script, or coordinate script as needed.

But there are dozens of pages with numerous products on each page, and multiple fields (title, description, price, quantity, product number) for each product.
I don't want to propose our designer meticulously rename thousands of elements.
I have found the Tags window to be much quicker to associate a type to each textFrame. But I haven't been able to work with the tags through script...

From what I've read, CS5 and later doesn't allow you to get a tag/label through scripting.

Is this true? Is anyone aware of any way around it?

-TLDR-