• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Topics translated but index and TOC not translated

New Here ,
Feb 26, 2009 Feb 26, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have an English help project that contains 996 topics. I "inherited" the project, which was created by several other technical writers who no longer work at the company. And, I am new to the company and the only tech writer with very little history on how the project was created and maintained. My task is to have the English help project translated into Italian. Our project coordinator, who works directly with the translator, sent the source files to the translator. The translator, who used Composer to translate the files, did not translate the index or the table of contents, assuming that the index and table of contents would automatically update -- that did not happen when I overwrote my help project files with the translated files. The topic contents are now in Italian, the topic titles are in Italian; however the TOC and index are not. My question: Is there an efficient way to translate the the TOC and index that is NOT done manually. Is there a RoboHelp file that can be edited to translate the hhk and hhc into Italian. I am using RoboHelp 7. The translator is using a trial copy of RoboHelp 8. The language barrier is significant. My translation project is due 03/09/2009.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Feb 26, 2009 Feb 26, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Welcome to the forums.

The structure of the TOC and index files was changed in RH8, so it won't really help you for the translator to translate in the RH8 interface and send you the files back. You'd have to copy and paste from the new file to a file in the old format.