• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Puppet distorting on walk cycle

New Here ,
Jul 10, 2018 Jul 10, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone, I am fairly new to Character Animator and have started building my first puppet with a walk cycle. The problems I'm getting is the arms legs and mid rift get stretched and warped oddly when walking/running and do not bend correctly.

warping_screenshot.jpg

here is a link to the PSD and puppet to see if anyone can help,

http://https://wetransfer.com/downloads/8dcfa0b90922b26c95c890b8d5be19cd20180710202745/2797cd28909b8...

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Jul 11, 2018 Jul 11, 2018

I don't understand why, but I got better behavior. Looking at the mesh etc, it seems the front near the belt around the waist seems to not move at the front with the rest of the body. That was strange. So I moved the "left profile" origin down towards the hips (away from the belt) and things started looking better. However, I made lots of other tweaks as well (moving handles and origins), so not sure which it is. But moving the origins away from the belt made things better for me.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I don’t have a computer with me just now, but you can try turning on the “mesh” icon at the bottom of the scene and rig windows. If the yellow mesh of triangles does not follow the outline of the character, warping will be strange.

Next I would check for independence. If you watch the walk with the mesh on, you may notice parts of the puppet that look “connected” in unexpected ways. That can help locate the source of problems.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines