• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Faster editing suggestions - please!

Community Beginner ,
Jul 11, 2018 Jul 11, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi - am looking for suggestions to speed up my workflow for editing photos.

I am an amateur taking pictures of my family using my Olympus OMD EM1 and iPhone.

I have built up a backlog of photos to be edited from the OMD EM1 in Lightroom, having very little personal time available to spend editing.

The photos end up in online galleries to share with the family, on my Apple TV screensaver, as prints by Metro and Loxley on our wall, and as greeting cards for our families.

Am looking for suggestions to minimise the time spent editing.

Here is my current workflow:

Put SD card into Mac.

Import direct to LR (tried Photomechanic but didn't really save any time for me).

During import, I add caption and general blanket LR settings (e.g 'Camera Natural' profile, mild contrast boost).

In LR, select items to keep.

Editing the selected items;

Go back to last image edited (marked with color label), and hand edit.

Hand edits include: cropping, exposure settings, white balance, occasional colour settings, occasional perspective correction, skin blemish removal, sharpening, noise reduction.

I update the position of the last image edited by moving the colour label.

This process does not work on LR CC on the iPad - the colour labels are not visible in LR CC. I am going to try using Keywords as an alternative.

The process is also not sustainable for me, I don't have time to sit down in front of the Mac when I am home for more than 20 mins at a time.

Am thinking really I could import just the jpegs, do the crops in LR mobile or Photos and just forget the finer edits.

Suggestions please!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines