• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

4k proxy files

Community Beginner ,
Mar 24, 2018 Mar 24, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I just learned about proxy files as I started shooting in 4k.  No problems before 4K.  I been watching Adobe videos and You tube.  Just does not work.  I seen nothing happening when I click the final OK and no files show up.  How long should this take maybe on of my problems, not waiting hours for two small 4k clips.  What could I possible doing wrong.  I am using a laptop with only 8g RAM but is not this what Proxy files are about?  Please someone............

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Mar 24, 2018 Mar 24, 2018

Creating proxy files on ingest is something you will REALLY need on a small 8GB RAM laptop!

Especially if you're working the 4k files of any drone, phone, DSLR, or other 'device', almost guaranteed that's the long-GOP stuff that is the hardest media on a CPU for playback created. Efficiently written to small space fast on the 'device' by specialized chips, but ... there's only a real compressed I-frame every 9-120 "frames", as in between there are data-sets written referring to pixels that eithe

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,
Mar 24, 2018 Mar 24, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Creating proxy files on ingest is something you will REALLY need on a small 8GB RAM laptop!