• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Is it possible to have dynamic variables?

New Here ,
Mar 10, 2009 Mar 10, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I'm new to RoboHelp. I'm trying to determine if this software could work for my company's needs. One thing that I cannot find in the help is dynamic variables. I need to be able to feed a variable into the generated html help file, which will then affect the path of the links in the help file. Is such a thing possible? If there are no dynamic variables, can I achieve this result through a different method?

thanks so much!
Ellen

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Ellen and welcome to the RH community.

Can you tell what you are trying to achieve by this dynamic variable path?

Colum

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Colum,
Here is what I'm trying to do:
1. In the final help file, there are numerous links to product pages, tutorials, etc.
2. Depending on where the customer is coming from, these links change.
3. I wanted to save the "customer location" if you will, as a variable
4. create another variable, call it path, that truncates or massages "customer location"
5. use the variable "path" in the actual links

Problem is, I don't know "customer location" until they actually click to open the help file. Hence, I was thinking about dynamic variables...

Does that make any sense?

thanks so much for helping me
Ellen

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines