• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How important is it to know (what they do) and understand file formats in Photoshop?

Participant ,
Aug 08, 2018 Aug 08, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all,

Was just wondering if you could give me any advice on file formats when importing or exporting in Photoshop/when receiving or sending off anything required for photoshop.

I have done a lot of my own research on the topic but still get confused with JPEGS, DNGS, RAWS, TIFFS etc.

I am still a beginner and the last thing I want to do is send a file in the incorrect format to a client.

Any sort of advice will be of great use.

Thank you in advance.

- CT

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 08, 2018 Aug 08, 2018

Yes, PNG support for icc profiles is unreliable. Jpeg supports profiles reliably, and it also supports CMYK in the format specification, although not always in many applications' jpeg decoding. 

Jpeg is usually fine as final delivery format, provided you don't edit and resave it multiple times afterwards. Jpeg data compression is destructive, irreversible and cumulative, and quality degrades with every resave. Never use jpeg as a working/archive format.

The reason jpeg is still widely used, is th

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

DNG and RAW are both raw formats and you will never send them to a client. You will convert them most likely to jpg. They are your "negatives". Unless someone specifically asks for a tiff, probably no tiffs, either. Jpgs are your friends to hand off. What do you do, what are the files you are sharing?