• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

MP4 vs MOV

Engaged ,
Aug 19, 2018 Aug 19, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am an experienced professional still photographer but "really" new to movie making. I will be doing drone based architectural work and aerial in inspection movies. Can anyone tell me the advantages and disadvantages to MP4 vs MOV. I am shooting with a Sony a7 III and a phantom 4 pro drone. I am an experienced Lightroom and photoshop user, and a member of creative cloud. I just started learning Premiere.

I am a Windows user so leaning toward MP4. I also noticed that the Premiere examples use MP4. However, I would like a more informed reason for choosing one over the other.

Thank you in advance. Adobe forums have always been a god-send.

Jim

[please refrain from PII and 3rd party URLs in this area - Moderator]

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 19, 2018 Aug 19, 2018

Actually it depends on where your project is directed, that is, if you want to upload it to YouTube, Vimeo or some social network, you will have better .MP4 with H.264 codec due to its high quality and its small size. disk. But, if your video is intended for broadcast or for reproduction where what you need is the best possible quality then it suits you a .MOV with a DNxHD codec if your video is high definition or DNxHR if your video is 4K, for example. I could compare a .MP4 video with a .JPEG

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Both have the H.264 codec. Both are suited to be edited by Premiere.

Dont think one is better then the other.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines