• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lightroom Classic proper start

New Here ,
Aug 27, 2018 Aug 27, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello community, I am brand new at lightroom but find myself bugging at the first step... how to import and organize my files while assuring proper backup. 

I run lightroom from my internal 500gb ssd, and my pictures are stored on an external 2TB hdd. I've started importing files from that hard drive and copying them through lightroom on a second external hard drive where I can reorganize them a bit better (getting rid of duplicates, boring iphone pictures and so on...). I then plan on using a third drive as a clone of this ''lightroom'' drive.

1) From my understanding, such a setup creates a physical copy of my original files and these will be the only ones affected by any edits in lightroom or photoshop?

2) Editing will require the external hard drive to be connected? What about the lightroom ''catalog'' ( is it saved on that drive as well? Would it be more efficient to have that saved on the internal ssd?)

3) When I go into my lightroom library drive and edit files directly there (organizing/creating folder, deleting pictures), does it affect lightroom and its catalog, or should I only do this through lightroom?

Probably a lot of basic questions, but I've struggled with my previous backup methods and want to nail this as I am starting from scratch and move on to editing (and maybe backing up my original files, and backing up some more on the cloud arghhh)

Any help or guideline appreciated or if you could just share the way you have it work for you.

Cheers

G

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Aug 28, 2018 Aug 28, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied