• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

New to LR trying to understand the basics

Engaged ,
Sep 12, 2018 Sep 12, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm brand new to LightRoom and I'm trying to understand its organizational model.   There's a zillion tutorials out there but they each seem to address only parts of it and I'm trying to get the big picture.    I can also see on the web that many other people are confused, too.

Catalogs.    Libraries.    Folders.    Collections.

They all seem like words for containers.   If we were talking about books, you could have a collection of books, a catalog of books, a library of books or folder of books (say if you were a publisher and the folder had manuscripts or print-ready files).  But being in one wouldn't necessarily imply a hierarchy, although it could.  I.e., a library might have a collection of books, and those books might be in a catalog so there's a hierarchy:  Library hasa Collection, but also  Library hasa Catalog.   But a collection doesn't necessarily contain a catalog, or vise versa, although it could.  Conversely it could be disjoint -  books could be in one without being in any of these others.  I could have a library in my house which holds my books but they may not be catalogued, etc.

So what exactly is the definition of each of these and what exactly is their relationship  to each other in LightRoom?

Is there a hierarchy -  is one at the top and does it contain a bunch of the others and do each of those others contain a third kind, etc?

Or are they all totally disjoint; an image can be in one but the other?