• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

New to Lightroom: Should I use Classic or CC?

Explorer ,
Jan 12, 2018 Jan 12, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I'm considering moving over from Aperture to Lightroom. I'm a new user, so I'm a bit confused by the two Lightroom versions available: CC and Classic CC.

I don't really care about cloud features, I have way too many photos to make cloud storage financially feasible. I just want a good post-processor and organizer for the tens of thousands of photos (mostly RAW) I have. Also, if there's a way to import photos from Aperture/Apple Photos over to Lightroom, that would be a big plus.

So, if I'm just getting started with Lightroom (but not photography), which version should I choose?

From what I've read, seems like Classic is more stable and has more features. It's hard to predict how Adobe will continue down this path of maintaining two versions of Lightroom. One of them is obviously the "favorite" for Adobe, which means it'll get all the attention while the other languishes. I'm guessing the one that will get the latest, coolest new features will be LR CC, and then they will get around to maybe adding those same features to LR Classic.

Would love to get any input on this, thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Advocate , Jan 12, 2018 Jan 12, 2018

I would highly recommend Lr Classic CC.

Lr CC (the cloud based system) is only version 1.1 and these support forums are replete with requests for help from users who are having problems. I'm not saying the software is flawed, it's just an early release version.