Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

XMP files

Participant ,
Nov 11, 2018 Nov 11, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

I am fairly new to lightroom, but a long time photoshop user.

Three questions that are probably really simple, but i cant find the answer.

1. XMP files, ( I know what they are... now). My LR has the default settings of writing XMP files. I know the pros and cons of not having them but if you dont create them are you soley reliant on having LR to be able to see yor edited CR2 file, and therefore are you more prone to losing all the edits for a CR2 file if you somehow lose the LR catalog.

I 'feel' having the XMP files always created, and then back up my files everytime i do a file backup, that im more likely to not lose my edits.

2. My CR2 icon files in Finder dont preview "show" the amendments (XMP data), is there a way for the previews to automatically reflect the CR2 edits (XMP data)?

3. Are there other programes that can read (and apply) the XMP data to the CR2 files? or are we, again, soley reliant on adobe to be able to apply the XMP edits in the future? I just wonder if I (we) move away from Adobe in the future, are some of our older CR2 files only going to be viewable as the native file, ie without the (XMP) edits?

thanks for the help

Simon

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Nov 12, 2018 Nov 12, 2018

simonb9342883  wrote

Taking everything else thats been said into account, I feel now im on the 'adobe' LR track, it sort of makes you feel you are on it for life. It pretty much locks you in to using it once your committed to using it. Giving it up later on is going to be a whole lotta pain.