Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Premiere pro - Canon 5d footage much darker, black line at the bottom

New Here ,
Nov 22, 2018 Nov 22, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I've been editing a documentary on Premiere Pro for the last two years. Since about a year, I have had an issue with all the footage that was shot on Canon 5d (about half of the film). It now appears much darker, more saturated with the blacks completely crushed, and there is a black line at the bottom. This is not on the footage, it only appears in Premiere Pro. Anyone else had the same issue? I contacted customer support 4 times and they didn't help, they told me 'it will be fixed next year'.

Can anyone help please? I need to output the film to grade this week. I tried exporting a Prores and exporting an XML for Resolve but the colours shows all wrong in both cases.

Thanks

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Mentor , Nov 22, 2018 Nov 22, 2018

actually there's many problems going on at the same time. Let's break it down.

1.first off, to fix the line issue, switch off Hardware acceleration,use 'software' instead (in Preferences > Media), restart Premier and the lines are gone.

2. davinci uses video or full range levels to decide what the pixels look like. is mac display enabled in davinci? is video levels?

3. in premiere, is there a master lut applied? is color management enabled? are you using a P3 monitor from a mac? premiere uses bt188

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm confused.

With an XML, Resolve ends up reading the original footage as is.  The XML is just an instruction set on which parts of which clips to use.  No effects or other changes to the video are included.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines