Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Help! Proxy files are huge.

Community Beginner ,
Dec 06, 2018 Dec 06, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm new to Premiere and a problem with Proxys is driving me insane.

When I convert my video files to Proxys the Proxy files are 10x the size of the original files.

I'm mostly working with .avi or .mp4 files 3/4gig in size. Because my machine is old i want to convert these to smaller Proxy files.

However when I convert them I end up with a 24gig Proxy file!

I have tried using GoPro Cineform with the quility turned down to one and the resolution at around 1280(I've tried various resolutions)

I've also tried the ProRes 4:2:2 preset with the same resulting massive proxys files.

Even if I test something simple like a 7mb rip from youtube the Prozy file ends up at 23mb.

I've created Proxys from files like these countless times in FCPX without any issues so I don't think the files are the problem.

I'm obviously doing something wrong but I can't figure it out.

Any help would be much appreciated.

I'm working on the latest version of Premiere Pro CC

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Adobe Employee , Dec 06, 2018 Dec 06, 2018

The proxy formats you've mentioned are high quality intermediate codecs.   It sounds like your source files are more compressed than both Cineform or Prores 422.  

For the smallest proxies, you could create H264 proxies at a lower resolution.  There is an included preset for that format.  You could also create your own custom proxy presets. Prores LT is a good option if you are on a Mac

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe Employee ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied