Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

DE for scientists

New Here ,
Apr 24, 2008 Apr 24, 2008

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All,

I first want to start off by saying how great DE is. I am a researcher at an academic institute and I am using DE not for ebooks but for reading and storing comments/notes on published scientific papers, as almost 100% of the literature I have to read is in PDF format. DE has allowed me go paper free by keeping the notes I make on each paper associated directly with with that paper. Which is perfect! Currently I have 405 papers stored with DE, a number that grows almost daily. I have a few questions, hopefully I am not repeating what others have asked already.

1st, Is there any way that DE could add new PDFs that are saved into a specified folder automatically, and create bookshelves based on the folder names? This would save a lot of clunky messing around in DE.

2nd, Is there a way to make DE use the file name as the title? Or edit the details of a particular PDF.

3rd, Would it be possible to group all the notes/bookmarks made in a particular paper/book together, and have them grouped in a way so that they could be exported as a txt file, or simply copied and pasted into another document?

4th, Is there any way to copy text or figures from a paper/book?

Many thanks,
Christian

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Apr 25, 2008 Apr 25, 2008

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

LATEST
No, No, No, and Yes (Text)

1 and 3 are great feature requests but are not currently in 1.0 and will not be in 1.5 (which is coming "real soon now")

For 2, we use the filename if the book does specify a title in the PDF metadata. Editing of metadata about a book in ADE is a long standing feature request that I really want to do.