• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do i create shapes such as stars and waves in, indesign

New Here ,
Apr 17, 2008 Apr 17, 2008

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to using indesign, please could someone help me on how to make shapes such as stars and waves and also place images inside these shapes.
Any help would be very much appreciated.
Thank you

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Stars: press and hold the mouse on the Rectangle tool. Select the polygon in the popup menu. Next, double-click the (now) Polygon tool to see its options. Experiment with the number of sides and the Star insert to get the star you want -- the "insert" value defines how much the sides of the polygon are pressed inwards. I never tried before, but it doesn't seem to be possible to alter the value after drawing one ...

Waves: select the pen tool and draw waves one segment at a time. If you need more control, you might want to draw the wave in Illustrator and copy that into ID -- you can copy any path from Illy.

Placing an image into a shape: not sure about the wave ... that's just a single line, isn't it?
Into the star, or a circle or rectangle is easy. First, select the object you want to put the image in. Then, choose your image file with the Place dialog. Be sure to check the "Replace selected item" box. Press Okay, and the image is in the object.

Alternatively, place your image somewhere in the document as usual, Cut, select your object, and choose Edit -> Paste into.

Changing it afterwards is easiest with the white arrow Direct Selection tool. Click and drag the image inside the object to adjust its position, or press Delete to remove.