• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Creating button that prints DHTML drop-down text

New Here ,
Apr 23, 2009 Apr 23, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi -- I'm trying to follow instructions in Rick Stone's Tips 'n Tricks (Thank you so much Rick!) for creating a Print button that when clicked, expands all DHTML drop-downs in the topic and then prints the topic. However, I'm just learning RH7 and don't know JavaScript. The button appears on the page, but when clicked doesn't do anything. If anyone out there does know JavaScript and can tell me what I'm doing wrong, I'd greatly appreciate it!

I copied Rick's code into the topic HEAD:

<script type="text/javascript" language=JavaScript1.2><!--
var arrayofDivs = document.all.tags("DIV");
}
function showEm() { for (x=0;x<arrayofDivs.length;x++) { arrayofDivs.style.display = "block"; }
}
function hideEm() { for (x=0;x<arrayofDivs.length;x++) { arrayofDivs.style.display = "none"; }
}
function printEm() { ;showEm();setTimeout('window.print()',50)}
//--></script>

<input type=button name=button value="Print this topic" onClick="JavaScript:printEm()">

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Engaged ,
Apr 24, 2009 Apr 24, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi db_tw -

On the third line of the script, there's an end brace that looks like it doesn't belong (no open brace). Try removing that } character on the third line.

HTH,

G

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Apr 24, 2009 Apr 24, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi -- I removed the } but unfortunately, it didn't do anything. Button still doesn't work. Thanks so much for your input though!

Votes

Translate